Please post your payments

This is along the lines of the cash in the office post. One of my doctors has lost an insane amount of money, and I would like you all to learn from his mistake.

I have a small Internal Med with an emphasis in Cardiology in Montclair. I go to their office once a week, after hours, and do all the charges and claims in about an hour. This isn’t bragging, they are small, and I am fast, and they only have me enter charges and send electronic claims. I have been doing their billing for four years and, until recently, I had never even seen one of their EOBs. They don’t want to pay me to post the payments, because they think it will cost them too much money.

I finally signed them up for a user name and password on the Online Provider Services Medicare website, against the office manager’s strenuous objections. On the first EOB I pull up, I immediately notice that ALL the EKGs I billed had been translating as 93005 instead if 93000.  The reimbursement for a 93005 is $8.93 (allowed $11.16 minus the 20% coinsurance) and the reimbursement for the 93000 is $15.14 (allowed $18.93 less $3.79 for the coinsurance). That means my Internal Med has been losing $6.21 on every EKG for at least the last four years. He probably does 20 EKGs per week. So, ($6.21) x (20 EKGs per week) x (52 weeks) x (4 years) = $25,833.60. This does not account for the fact that over the last four years Medicare reimbursements have been decreasing.

Even after this, I have not been able to convince them that it would be more cost efficient in the long run to have me post the payments as well as the charges. Please, please, please use this as a warning and properly reconcile your EOBs with your payments. Every EOB for every charge.

Also, do it by line item and not by charge, because it is too easy to miss something important. Something like this.

$25k. Gah.

P.S. If you have any questions about what you should be getting paid for things, use the Medicare Fee Schedule Look-Up. Most companies will pay a similar amount, so you are mostly safe using that as a standard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Accounts receivable, Billing, Claims, CPT, Denials, Doctor's Office, Follow up, Health Care, Medical Billing, Medicare, Office policy, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

